Mic Drop. 2016 Emmy Edition.

I’ve been blogging about awards shows long before blogs existed.  2 hour long phone calls with my bestie evolved into water cooler conversations at work, then very long Facebook “Notes” (remember ’25 Things’?), and eventually here at Trendslation.

Perhaps it’s because of this that sometimes it feels as if I’ve said all there is to say about beautiful actresses in beautiful dresses with beautiful hair and makeup and jewelry, and last night as one perfect gown after the other sashayed down the Red Carpet I was strongly considering sitting this one out. I mean, yes, neon yellow was a fun trend, and brights in general (from green to fuchsia) balanced out the usual parade of black, Julia Louis Dreyfuss stunned and Sarah Paulson wowed.  But nothing about their very carefully orchestrated looks made me gasp.  There was so moment of surprise. It’s at the point where they better look that good, with the Village of Glam Squads and gifted gowns at their disposal!  Red Carpet Ennui ensued.  Until…

A very pregnant, very coiffed, very sexy Kerry Washington appeared on my screen.  I literally gasped, I dropped my pen and paper, shut my laptop and stared.  In awe.  A creature of beauty who was literally glowing from within.  It wasn’t about the “baby bump” or the natural curls, or the cut outs, it was the whole of her.  Gloriously dressed in a Brandon Maxwell black cutout gown with train, Diana Ross mane bouncing in the wind, flawless skin and makeup, and yes, every gorgeous curve on display. Kerry Washington embodied confidence, sensuality, and womanhood in such a modern fresh way I just had to dust off the blog for her.  Brava, Mama.  And thank you.

kerry

LOS ANGELES, CA – SEPTEMBER 18: Actress Kerry Washington attends the 68th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards at Microsoft Theater on September 18, 2016 in Los Angeles, California. (Photo by Todd Williamson/Getty Images)

Leave a Reply

